CAPHC Awards

CAPHC Contribution to Child Health Award

This annual award was created to recognize an individual who has dedicated his or her career to making a difference to the lives and well-being of children, youth and families in Canada. The award recognizes outstanding achievement from multiple perspectives as well as an individual’s dedication and commitment to CAPHC’s goals and objectives.

The CAPHC Contribution to Child Health Award was established by the Board of Directors at the 2005 Annual Retreat, with the first presentation at the Annual Conference in St. John’s Newfoundland.

Contribution to Child Health Award Recipients


2016: Dr. Shoo Lee Scientific Director for the CIHR Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health (IHDCYH); Professor of Paediatrics, Obstetrics & Gynaecology and Public Health at the University of Toronto; and Paediatrician-in-Chief and Director of the Maternal-Infant Care (MICare) Research Centre at Mt. Sinai Hospital.

2015: Dr. Denis Daneman (Paediatrician-in-Chief at the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) and Chair of the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto)

2014: Ms Anne McGuire (Former President & CEO, IWK Health Centre, Halifax) and Ms Sheila Jarvis (President & CEO, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital, Toronto)

2013: Ms Mary Jo Haddad (former President & CEO of The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto)

2012: Ms Darlene Boliver (Director, Quality and Patient Safety IWK Health Centre) and Ms Tracy Wrong (Director, Quality Management, CHEO - Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario)

2011: Dr Austin (Rick) Cooper (Department of Paediatrics, Memorial University. Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre)

2010: Dr Gerarda Cronin (Director of Quality and Decision Support, Child Health Program, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority)

2009: Dr Harvey Guyda (former Associate Executive Director, Montreal Children's Hospital)

2008: Mr Frank Gavin (Founder and Past-Chair, Canadian Family Advisory Network)

2007: Ms Marilyn Booth (Executive Director, PCMCH - Provincial Council for Maternal and Child Health)

2006: Dr Brian Postl (Chair, Canadian Institute for Health Information Board of Directors; Dean of Medicine, University of Manitoba)

2005: Mr Garry Cardiff (former President and CEO, CHEO - Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario)







CAPHC Citizenship Award

The “CAPHC Citizenship Award” was established by the CAPHC Board of Directors in 2007, with the first presentation at the Annual Conference in Montreal Québec.

This award, distinguishes an organization, a foundation, or a corporation’s philanthropic contribution dedicated to improving the lives of Canada’s children and youth. This award also recognizes the value an organization places on innovation, partnerships and collaboration with the healthcare community within a shared vision for the future of our

Citizenship Award Recipients

2016: The Alberta Children's Hospital Foundation

2015: UNICEF Canada

2014: Accreditation Canada

2013: Gerald Perron et Le Groupe Perron

2012: The Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)

2011: The Stollery Children's Hospital Foundation

2010: The SickKids Foundation

2009: Canadian Patient Safety Institute

2008: MedBuy

2007: Bell Canada


CAPHC Honorary Membership Award

In 2012 CAPHC was honoured to present the Bilodeau Family with CAPHC's Honorary Membership Award. 

© 2011 Canadian Association of Paediatric Health Centres. Site by Hop Creative